Cricket Australia release summer schedule with women’s Ashes Test at MCG and five-match Australia-India series

Cricket Australia have released the international cricket schedule for next summer with history set to be made under lights at the MCG.

For the first time in 76 years, a women’s Test match will be played at the iconic venue when Australia faces England in January. It will also be the first day-night Test match at the MCG.

The MCG Test is just one of a number of women’s matches scheduled at big grounds with the multiformat series to include T20 matches at the SCG and Adelaide Oval.

Watch, Stream & Catch Up with Australia’s Home of Cricket on 7plus 7plus

The international season gets underway in September when the Australian women host New Zealand for three T20s before they then play three ODIs against India.

The men’s team begin their summer of cricket in November with ODI and T20 series against Pakistan.

They will then host India in a five-match Test series, beginning on November 22 in Perth.

That will be followed by the return of day-night Test cricket at Adelaide Oval before the series continues in Brisbane, Melbourne and Sydney.

It’s the first time in over 30 years the two powerhouse nations will contest a five-match series.

The Border-Gavaskar Trophy Series will features five Tests this summer. Credit: Getty Images

“This is one of the most highly anticipated summers of cricket in memory with the eyes of the cricket world focussed on the extended Border-Gavaskar Trophy Series and the multiformat Women’s Ashes,” Cricket Australia CEO Nick Hockley said.

“Fittingly, the Border-Gavaskar Trophy has been put on the same footing as The Ashes with a five Test Series for the first time since 1991-92 and we’re confident the schedule will maximise viewership and attendances and there will be a tremendous atmosphere in stadiums across the country.”

Seven’s full digital rights kick in this summer with all of the network’s Test matches, women’s internationals, BBL and WBBL games all running on 7plus for the first time.

Summer of cricket schedule

Women’s T20I Series v New Zealand

19 September: Great Barrier Reef Arena, Mackay (N)

22 September: Great Barrier Reef Arena, Mackay (N)

24 September: Allan Border Field, Brisbane (N)

Women’s ODI Series v India

5 December: Allan Border Field, Brisbane (D/N)

8 December: Allan Border Field, Brisbane (D)

11 December: WACA Ground, Perth (D/N)

Women’s Ashes ODI Series

12 January: North Sydney Oval, Sydney (D)

14 January: Junction Oval, Melbourne (D)

17 January: Bellerive Oval, Hobart (D)

Women’s Ashes T20I Series

20 January: SCG, Sydney (N)

23 January: Manuka Oval, Canberra (N)

25 January: Adelaide Oval, Adelaide (N)

Women’s Ashes Test Match

30 January-2 February: MCG, Melbourne (D/N)

Men’s ODI Series v Pakistan

4 November: MCG, Melbourne (D/N)

8 November: Adelaide Oval, Adelaide (D/N)

10 November: Perth Stadium, Perth (D/N)

Men’s T20I Series v Pakistan

14 November: The Gabba, Brisbane (N)

16 November: SCG, Sydney (N)

18 November: Bellerive Oval, Hobart (N)

Men’s Test Series v India

22-26 November: Perth Stadium, Perth

6-10 December: Adelaide Oval, Adelaide (D/N)

14-18 December: The Gabba, Brisbane

26-30 December: MCG, Melbourne

3-7 January: SCG, Sydney

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.