Novak Djokovic blows up at umpire during shock loss to world No.123 Luca Nardi at Indian Wells

World No.1 Novak Djokovic has blown up at the chair umpire during the worst loss of his career at Indian Wells on Tuesday (AEDT).

Djokovic fell to a stunning 6-4 3-6 6-3 loss to world No.123 Luca Nardi, who became the lowest-ranked player to ever beat the 24-time grand slam champion.

WATCH THE VIDEO ABOVE: Djokovic blows up at the chair umpire.

Newsletters: Our top sports news direct to your inbox. Subscribe now Subscribe now

The 20-year-old Italian, who grew up idolising Djokovic, was only in the tournament as a lucky loser after losing in qualifying.

Nardi continually frustrated Djokovic throughout the match, but things boiled over early in the second set when Djokovic and the umpire were involved in a tense exchange.

The drama unfolded when Djokovic was facing break point while serving at 2-0 in the second serve.

Djokovic missed his first serve and Nardi thought the second serve was going out so only half hit the ball back into play and nearly gave up.

Djokovic then hit a drop shot, which Nardi was able to chase down and hit past a standing Djokovic, who by this point had completely stopped.

The Serbian was then left incensed after the point and game was awarded to Nardi and approached the chair umpire to complain about a potential hindrance call.

Djokovic blows up at the chair umpire during his loss at Indian Wells. Credit: TennisTV

Djokovic: “He stopped.”

Umpire: “He reacted to the call, he didn’t make the call. He didn’t actually stop the point. Just because he stops doesn’t mean the point stops.”

Djokovic: “Just because he stops doesn’t mean the point stops, what are you talking about? He literally stopped and that’s it and he confused me completely. I stopped as well. How can you not make that judgement? Are you blagging me or what?”

Umpire: “Are you wanting me to call a hindrance?”

Djokovic: “Of course because he stopped. The guy stopped …”

Umpire: “Just because he stands there and doesn’t continue to play, that’s not grounds for a hindrance.”

Djokovic: “The situation was where he thought the ball was out and he just stopped. That’s it.”

Umpire: “I understand your point, but for me that’s not a hindrance.”

Djokovic: “What is your point?”

Umpire: “My point is that’s not grounds for him to lose the point. If we would’ve come up saying ‘out’ or pointing out or something along those lines, then yes, I would agree with you 100 per cent, but since he didn’t do anything to actually stop the point …”

Djokovic then walks away to sit down for the change of ends.

Despite the set getting back on serve, Djokovic quickly regrouped to break again and level the match at a set apiece.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


*